Initiating Arabella

After moaning and complaining about knitting fingering weight sweaters, here we are again, with a fingering weight tunic.

20160404_110355

Another Brooklyn Tweed pattern, Arabella. It’s a simple, vented tunic, made special by the gores which push the fabric out into a playful, swingy shape. I’m planning to use CustomFit for the top of the body and sleeves, and am knitting the bottom with stitch counts from the original pattern which match up most closely to the numbers needed for the CustomFit yoke. This means I’ll end up with a front which is slightly larger than the back (as generated by CustomFit), but that’s what I need for good fit. I’ll also get a bit of negative ease in the bust, which is also something I prefer to the intended positive ease of the pattern. Finally, I’ll make full length sleeves (if I have enough yarn) and also add short rows to the front of the body, to ensure it doesn’t ride high as I’ve seen in many projects on Ravelry.

The yarn is Madelinetosh Merino Light (again!) in “Pecan Pie”. Let the moaning begin!

10 thoughts on “Initiating Arabella

  1. I will be moaning right along with you! I am doing a cardi in fingering, with 5 colors! So I plan to weave in ends as I go, or maybe after 3-4 color changes. We’ll see how well I do with it. Love the pattern!

  2. That will be beautiful! You do very lovely work. Do you find that the Madelinetosh pills in a sweater? I just used it in some nice mitts, but it has a little halo and I’m curious how it will wear after a while.

    1. I find Madelinetosh Merino Light pills surprisingly little for a singles yarn. I haven’t used it for heavy duty items (like socks), though, so maybe that makes a difference?

  3. Oooh that pattern is so pretty and the side view is to die for! Good luck with the knitting, I’m sure it will all be worth it.

    1. Thanks, I’m hoping to steam through the large pieces, then hopefully the thought of the finished garment will get me through the sleeves!

  4. ooh, that colour is so lovely! And chances are when you reviewed your knits you probably found that you wear the fingering weight knits more, so it makes sense to spend more time on the knits that you love to wear!

Leave a comment