Dusk in Summer

I started Natsumi (Jp = “beautiful summer”, one of many meanings) in Madelinetosh Merino Light “Dusk”. The colour is gorgeous! A very delicate salmon pink, more dawn than dusk in my opinion!

image

As usual, I tweaked the pattern heavily.

I Kept
– The lovely cable and lace strip
– Dropped shoulders
– Curved hem
– Sideways construction
– Positive ease

I Changed
– Amount of ease; I’m aiming for 6″ upper torso ease (equivalent to 3″ full bust ease)
– Circularity of hem; recalculated to make a gentler slope
– Ease at hip; added short rows to make a swingier shape
– Position of pattern strip; lowered it so the bottom edge covers the bust
– Bust shaping; added another line of shaping above the strip only on the front
– Neck; changed to scooped shape with bind offs and decreases
– Neck finish; will probably apply an i-cord
– Sleeve cuffs; will probably add ribbing to match the hem

Essentially, I charted the shape I wanted, and recalculated everything according to my gauge. I’m dealing with millions of markers: 2 for the hem shaping, 4 to define edges of pattern strips, 3 for the shoulder and bust shaping.

Have split the neck, now working my way slowly across the back.

4 thoughts on “Dusk in Summer

  1. ooh, a lovely shade of pink! And so looking forward to seeing how your mods play out, I’m sure it will have beautiful results.

    1. Thanks Julie, I’m halfway through the front now, seems to be coming along well! Thing with sideways knits is, you never know how things are going to fit till the whole body is done!

Leave a Reply

