A Very Rosy Burrard

Burrard is finished!

full 02

Ages ago, browsing through its projects, I thought I saw a pink cardigan, and was seized with a desire to make Burrard in pink. Now I can’t find my inspiration project – perhaps it existed in my imagination only – but I have my own pink Burrard.

And what a pink it is! Not hot, not blue, not princessy, not girly, not frothy, not frivolous, but a true, blooming and beautiful colour! Like expensive roses, happy and adult, robust yet refined!

Because of my sad gauge accident this came out in an average fit rather than relaxed, but I love it nonetheless. I omitted the final BO at the top of the sleeve cap and carried the pattern on through saddles. Since the saddles covered some of the shoulder, I reduced the back and front lengths, starting the shoulder shaping about 1.5 inches lower than specified.

saddle

Finally, I picked up stitches around the neck and worked it in 2×2 rib, throwing in six short rows for the shawl collar.

full close

Details
Pattern: Burrard, generated with CustomFit
Yarn: Dream in Color Classy; 229m = 113g; 100% merino; worsted weight; “Rosalita”; 3.35 skeins
Needles: 3.5mm for ribbing, 5mm for rest (lever style)
Ravelled: Here

10 thoughts on “A Very Rosy Burrard

  1. I’m so not a “pink” person but this color is beautiful. Great choice of pattern and yarn.

    I really liked your tip on fixing a cable without having to rip. BTDT and just left it wrong. It was a pair of fingerless mitts for me and I didn’t notice it for weeks after I wore them!

  2. Beautifully done! I love the mods for a saddle shoulder and the collared pullover, I hope you get a lot of snuggly warm wear out of it 😀

Leave a Reply

