Prove Beatnik = Hoodie (20% of total marks)

“Beatnik” is so out of my vocabulary context, I can’t even think of cheesy puns for a title. Should I change it to Hipster instead? But this sweater is turning out rather nice, not at all hipster-prompted eye-roll worthy.

I wrote a lot about the shaping decisions I make in my last post, so won’t go into all those details again. I did more or less what I always do, with the significant exception of not adding short rows to the bust shaping (Shocking, I know!). That’s mainly because I’m making this with significant positive ease (Double shocking, I know!), since I believe a thick, cabled, tweedy sweater should be large enough to wear over other layers in the dead of winter, when from the moment you step out of your quilt to the time you crawl under it again, your room and food and water and books and furniture and door handles and cosmetics and utensils and keyboard and other people’s hands and your own fingers are C-O-L-D.

When we were in senior classes in school and in college, we had tons of complicated proofs in exams. These proofs and equations rule a large chunk of human life since they’re used as basis for decisions taken by government policies, telephone exchanges, traffic lights and other equally important but arcane stuff. Of course it isn’t possible to memorise these long proofs. Instead, we were taught to remember significant turning points in the proof, where you say: because X is known to be Y under Z conditions, we can now say A = B. These turning points would move the equations towards the proof you were aiming for, and everything between the turning points could be filled in with logic and quick thinking.

So, sweaters are something like that. Make the correct decisions at the significant turning points and the wip will move inexorably towards a good and flattering garment.

With that I present: Important Turning Points in My Beatnik

1. Set up to work in the round – side ‘seams’ are purl columns.

2. Prepare and execute steek – BO the central cable of the central panel and CO a few sts over the gap in the next round, continuing the steek to the top of the head.

P1050689

3. Define sleeve cap shaping – my sleeves are set in, and knitted together with the body. I mostly followed instructions from here, except that I did saddle shoulders. The caps and saddles are defined with a column of twisted stitches on each side.

P1050691

4. Deal with horizontal flare – after the shoulders are shaped (back and forth knitting) with short rows, the saddles are knitted back and forth, joining them to the shoulder stitches at the end of each saddle row by ‘eating’ one stitch from the Front and Back, alternately . However, this means the cables flare horribly at the top, with no cabling to keep them narrow and dimentionally plump. So on the last row of shoulder shaping I reduced all the stitches in the side cables by 1/3 (ie, k1, k2tog, repeat).

If all this talk of equations has convinced you I’m cool and logical, I’m NOT!! I’m horribly superstitious about jinxing my knitting with public declarations about future plans, and didn’t blog all this while simply because I was afraid I wouldn’t have enough yarn for a hood. Now that maybe, perhaps, if all goes well, fingers-crossed, it seems that I do, I can show a picture, and promise to discuss the hood in detail the next time!

 P1050688

Leave a Reply

