Seven Differences of Pattern Interpretation

Spot the differences:

3264540670_ee6aa3e111_nP1050532

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1. Sleeve Length and Belling: I’ve written before, my arms are shivery. I cast on a forearm’s width at the wrist, and knit straight until I needed to increase for the rest of the arm. This provides the perfect, Goldilocks’-happy-medium, amount of belling.

2. Sleeve / Back Transition: I cast on stitches at the underarm, instead of binding off, to give more coverage in front.

3. Back Shaping: To ensure that the back didn’t become too wide (since the ribbing strip would add to the width) I decreased gradually to centre back. Also, I didn’t do the centre back gathering since I don’t see the point of that.

4. Ribbing Twisted: twisted rib with tubular bind off for a more refined edge.

5. Longer and Narrower Body: Increased every fourth row (instead of alternate), and made long enough to reach mid hip.

P1050540

6. Polished Edges: Hems and cuffs are neatly turned with a purl ridge and sewn down. The edges of the cardigan have a double-knit tube for stability. The ribbing is finished with a tubular bind off.

7. Less ‘Raw’ Looking Garment: The original pattern looks like a delicate scrap of crumpled tissue paper. It’s a pretty look, but not one I’m very fond of — I much prefer refined and finished to raw and ethereal.

Specs
Pattern: Whisper Cardigan, Interweave Knits Spring 2009
Yarn: Berocco Ultra Alpaca Fine; 50% Wool, 30% Nylon, 20% Alpaca; 396m = 100 grams; Light fingering wt; “Tiger Eye”; 2.5 skeins.
Needles: 2.75mm for rib, 3mm for everything else.

6 thoughts on “Seven Differences of Pattern Interpretation

  1. Absolutely gorgeous. My best compliments.
    Thank you for posting you modification. They are really useful.
    (I added you in my friends in Ravelry because I admire your work and I will re-read your advice before my next knitting project. )
    Keep knitting and posting
    Kisses,
    Adamalia

Leave a Reply

