Lady Tryamour

I made pretty socks after a long time. Leaves, lace and trailing lines! Not something to stuff into a hiking boot. But they’re pretty, and since I mostly wear socks to keep my feet warm during flights, they’ll do.

As noted before, I like using thicker than usual yarn in dense gauges for socks, and this time I used a sportweight at light fingering gauge. Maddeningly, the yarn ran out with just one inch of the second sock left. I decided to be thrifty and unravelled a bit from another project (and later made sure both the armwarmers were the same length again).

For anyone who has long, narrow feet, note that this pattern broadens very quickly. I did fewer increases and spaced them more rows apart while doing the toe. This left me with fewer stitches overall and I had to do all sorts of mental gymnastics to figure out the heel shaping. But I’m glad I did, because I learnt to do gusseted heels from the toe up. Yay! They fit me so much better than short row heels.

And finally, I decided not to do the flipped cuff and did a simple one instead.

Pattern: Lady Tryamour, from The Knitters Book of Socks.
Yarn: Filatura di Crosa Zarina, 100% superwash wool, fingering weight, 1 skein + a little more.
Needles: 2.5mm bamboo dpns.

***

In the meanwhile, has my life suddenly acquired a colour Theme?

2 thoughts on “Lady Tryamour

Leave a Reply

