The Birth of Boticelli

Over the last few weeks, I have actually, truly, lived through a real winter using my handknits to survive. Brief report: They work!

Now I’m full of ideas on what-I-wore posts, layering posts and how-to-incorporate-handknits-into-daily-wardrobe posts. Hmmm… we’ll see if all that gets done in time to be useful for next winter!

Basically, I wrote down everything I wore for several weeks, and much to my delight, I discovered Patterns and Meaning in the data, regarding what kept me comfortable, specific to each temperature range! Our brains love Patterns and Meanings, right, even going so far as to invent superstition to force a Pattern on random circumstances? How delightful that I now know what will keep me warm! Another useful side effect was the recognition of several ideas of gaps in my wardrobe – now I also know what I need to knit in time for next winter!

One of these gaps was knitted tunics/dresses – some in thick yarn for cold weather, others in skinny yarn for transitional weather, say end February to mid-March, when temperatures swing wildly during the day, when we sometimes turn fans on during the afternoon and dive under blankets at night.

And that’s how I imagined the Boticelli Tunic, in lightweight sock yarn. Perfect for the average daily temperature; a leeetle bit too warm in the afternoon sun (but who cares, I’m perpetually cold and ready to accept heat in any form); just right for the rest of the day; needing another thin, warm layer in diminished or absent sunlight. But lovely enough, striking enough, to make an outfit by itself.

So, Boticelli:

  • Deep square neck – I’m using CustomFit to generate the pattern, and it’s easy enough to knit a square neckline from a generated deep scoop. I’ll describe the (minimal) calculations in another post. The neck is bordered with a thin applied i-cord and will be filled in with textured panels.

neck edge small

 

  • Fitted underbust – see how it looks almost vulgarly large when laid flat? A Rule of knitting is that garments which fit your three dimensional body will look awfully lumpy and wrinkly when laid flat.

Whole small

 

  • Gentle flare from underbust down – I’m contemplating doing sharp decreases at the bottom to mimic a bubble style, maybe.
  • Long vertical pockets, bordered with the same textured panel as the neck. A few stitches in double knit mimic the i-cord edging around the neck, without the latter’s tedious and slow pace of creation.

pocket small

I’m debating sleeve length – full or three quarter? Edged with the same vertical texture or not? The good thing is, these questions can be left till the very end.

The vertical texture, by the way, is from the Herringbone Rib Socks. It is a slow stitch, involving lots of slipping and passing, but working it back and forth is actually faster than in the round (as done with the sock pattern) since the number of slipping motions is reduced.

Progress tracker: Front bodice, back bodice, ‘skirt’, front pocket flap, pocket linings, neck texture, rest of skirt, sleeve 1, sleeve 2, finishing. 

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. projectstash

     /  21 February 2014

    Excellent post … love all your details!

    Reply
  2. Great texture!

    Reply
  3. Sounds lovely. I keep wanting to do a CustomFit sweater, and you’re definitely persuading me it’s worth making the time to do so.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 166 other followers

